Network Rail Telecom

NRT diagramNetwork Rail Telecom (NRT) is the company’s national, telecoms asset management function. NRT owns all of the company’s telecoms assets. Close to 20,000km of fibre-optic cable (the UK’s third largest network), backed up by 18,000km of hard cable and 2,500 masts, provide state-of-the-art communication services for the whole railway network.

Apart from the technical challenges that an operational railway presents to the telecommunications equipment, it also makes it a challenging environment to build and maintain the valuable assets.

The way the construction activity is managed is critical so NRT has its own core documents that help the process and ensure compliance with the law. They were completely overhauled and updated in August 2020.

For more advice or assistance the NRT Safety and Sustainable Development Team (SSD) can be contacted as follows:

Neil Marsh Head of SSD neil.marsh@networkrail.co.uk
Simon Budd Health and Safety Manager simon.budd@networkrail.co.uk
Aaron Neal Health and Safety Manager aaron.neal@networkrail.co.uk
Stephen Peltier Assurance Manager stephen.peltier@networkrail.co.uk
Amit Nayee Document Controller amit.nayee@networkrail.co.uk
Terry Williams Compliance Auditor terry.williams@networkrail.co.uk

← Back